Ruthanna Emrys

Ruthanna Emrys

Ruthanna Emrys is the author of Winter Tide, the first book in the Innsmouth Legacy series. Deep Roots, the second book in the series, is forthcoming in July 2018. Ruthanna co-writes Tor.com's Lovecraft Reread, and writes short stories about religion and aliens and psycholinguistics. She lives in a mysterious manor house on the outskirts of Washington, DC with her wife and their large, strange family. She makes home-made vanilla, obsesses about game design, gives unsolicited advice, and occasionally attempts to save the world.

Bibliography

Novels

Winter Tide – 2017 – Macmillan: http://www.tor.com/2017/01/09/excerpts-ruthanna-emrys-winter-tide-chapter-1/

Deep Roots – Forthcoming 2018 – Macmillan

 

Short Stories

"Those Who Watch – 2016 – The Mammoth Book of Cthulhu (Edited by Paula Guran): http://www.tor.com/2016/05/24/reprints-those-who-watch-ruthanna-emrys/

"The Deepest Rift" – 2015 – Tor.com: http://www.tor.com/2015/06/24/the-deepest-rift-ruthanna-emrys/

"Seven Commentaries on an Imperfect Land" – 2014 – Tor.com: http://www.tor.com/2014/08/20/seven-commentaries-on-an-imperfect-land-ruthanna-emrys/

"The Litany of Earth" – 2014 – Tor.com: www.tor.com/2014/05/14/the-litany-of-earth-ruthanna-emrys/

"Ghosts and Simulations" – 2007 – Strange Horizons: http://strangehorizons.com/fiction/ghosts-and-simulations/

 

Reviews/Non-Fiction

The Lovecraft Reread – Tor.com: http://www.tor.com/series/the-lovecraft-reread/

Related Experience

I'm happy to talk about many topics, including:

  • H.P. Lovecraft and deconstructing weird fiction
  • Queer representation in science fiction and fantasy
  • Jewish representation in science fiction and fantasy
  • Fantastic libraries
  • Cooking and food in fiction
  • Historical fantasy and the Cold War
  • Psychology and characterization (I have a PhD in cognitive psychology)
  • Connections between speculative fiction and Chicago, Massachusetts, New York, or DC

Contact Member