Jason M. Hough

Jason M. Hough

Jason M. Hough (pronounced 'Huff') is the New York Times bestselling author of The Dire Earth Cycle and the near-future spy thriller Zero World. In a former life he was a 3D artist, animator, and game designer (Metal FatigueAliens vs. Predator: Extinction, and many others). He has also worked in the fields of high-performance cluster computing and machine learning.

The Darwin Elevator began life in 2008 as a Nanowrimo project.  The book released on July 30th, 2013 and reached the New York Times Bestseller list the following week. Darwin was Jason’s first published fiction. The subsequent books in that trilogy were released that same summer, along with a prequel novella, The Dire Earth, in 2014.

Jason's latest novel, Zero World, released on August 18th, 2015 from Del Rey Spectra (US) and Titan Books (AUS/NZ). Publishers Weekly called it “a thrilling action rampage that confirms Hough as an important new voice in genre fiction.”

He lives near Seattle, Washington with his wife, two young sons, and a dog named Missbuster.


The Darwin Elevator

The Exodus Towers

The Plague Forge

The Dire Earth (novella)

Zero World

Awards and Memberships

SFWA member

ITW member

Related Experience

Numerous panel discussions at conventions

Lectures & Workshops on Science Fiction and writing topics

YouTube instructional video on using the Scrivener writing software (60000+ views)

Upcoming seminar for Clarion West

Contact Member